Tech + Lifestyle

games, gear, and googleplexes (joke)

Be Afraid. Be Very Afraid.

At this point, the fact that Sarah Palin is on the GOP ticket is nothing new. Tell me something I don’t know, right?

Liberals are doing just that. They’re doing you a favor. You’ll thank them later.

You know that thing called a vetting process, the method by which a candidate for public office is examined to ensure their suitability for said office? Yeah, the Republican party might have skipped a few steps on that one with Sarah Palin.

And now the rest of us are finding out just how much they ignored/covered up. Here are some links to a few articles in the New York Times discussing the absurdities we are being asked to overlook.

Once Elected, Palin Hired Friends and Lashed Foes

She’s Not Ready

Governor Palin’s Worldview

The Palin-Whatshisname Ticket

Bering Straight Talk (gotta love that witty title)

If you’re too lazy to click through and read these opinion pieces, I gotcha covered. Here’s a list of Things About Sarah Palin That Frighten Me:

  • When interviewed by Charlie Gibson, she had no idea what the Bush Doctrine is. You know, the one where we attack countries if we think they might want to attack us? The one that lets us stomp all over the sovereignty of other nations because, hey, we think that they might have wanted to attack us in the future. Weapons of Mass Destruction. Anyway, for seven years we’ve put up with W’s bullcrap and she didn’t even know what the Bush Doctrine was. If that isn’t ignorance, I don’t know what is. In this regard, I know more about foreign policy than the governor of Alaska. Me: 1 Palin: 0
  • Sarah Palin thinks that being “next door neighbors” with Russia is the same thing as being an expert on our relations with them, most recently regarding the fuss over Georgia (the country, Sarah, not the state). Well, when I’m not at school, I live in San Antonio, Texas, and that’s about 2.5 hours drive to Mexico. Plus, I know bunches of Mexican nationals who live in my hometown. I think that knowing people from another country and being in closer proximity to it makes me more of an expert. Me: 2 Palin: 0
  • The illustrious governor of Alaska has a documented tendency to fire people she doesn’t like and hire her friends. As in people she went to grade school with. She gains office, they magically start appearing in positions around, usually the high-paying ones. I shudder to think about what would happen if she pulled this malarkey on the national level. Great news, everyone! After having a “discussion” with McCain, Palin’s cousin is now Secretary of State, her husband has been appointed head of the Secret Service, and her pastor is donning the robes of a Supreme Court Judge (Roe v. Wade is about to be overturned, folks). I’ve never held public office, but I’ve never practiced nepotism anywhere in my life to begin with. Mostly I like to let experts do the things that they are good at. Pretty sure they’ve been at it a while, you know? Me: 3 Palin: 0
  • Back in the mid 1990s when she was Mayor of Wasilla, Sarah Palin asked the city librarian to remove certain books about being gay because she found them offensive, immoral. The librarian rightly refused and was subsequently fired for having “loyalty issues”. Palin was later forced to restore the librarian to her position after public outcry over the matter. I, on the other hand, have never tried to get books banned. Quite the opposite, in fact – I like to find lists of banned books and then go buy and read them. Makes me feel like I’m fighting The Man or something. Me: 4 Palin: 0
  • I don’t brag about having shot a moose. I’m not a hockey mom. I don’t have five kids. I don’t misappropriate funding to buy myself a Chevy Suburban when I’m the mayor of a small town, and I don’t give myself a per-diem pay to live in my own house when I’m governor of a state. For that matter, when I am busy being governor of a state, I don’t spend more than 300 days out of the year at my own home instead of up at the capital. You got that? I’m an accessible governor. Me:5 Palin: 0

The final score? I won 5-0. I’m by no means suggesting that I should be on a ticket instead of her. But if I can easily think of ways that I’m more qualified, or at least that she isn’t qualified, shouldn’t it have been easy to find somebody else for the Republican VP candidate? She’s acting more and more like Dick Cheney, only she’s controlling her puppet (read: McCain) without actually knowing anything about the position she’s charming her way into.

This election has taken things way, way beyond the surreal. Politically ignorant people never cease to astound me, and for that reason I’m afraid. Very afraid.

September 14, 2008 - Posted by | Politics | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

