Tech + Lifestyle

games, gear, and googleplexes (joke)

Left 4 Dead, Twenty Minutes In

I haven’t been able to get in much time playing the Left 4 Dead demo, which is a shame (considering that when the game goes live tomorrow, the demo goes dead). Regardless, in the brief amount of time I’ve spent in-game so far, I’ve managed to come away with a solid feel for how this game plays out.

First, I absolutely love the multi-player aspect of the game. Being able to play in a small team of four people against hordes of zombies (which are in turn, controlled by four other players) is gobs of fun. The team element of the game was clearly thought out, and the execution is quite good. Even in single player, using AI for the other three members of my team, it became quickly apparent that I wouldn’t survive without them. There are many times where the life of one team member is in danger, and it is up to the others to rescue them. It’s worth noting that voice chat adds a lot to the multiplayer. It really heightens tension when you hear the panic in other people’s voices, their anxiety as a crowd of zombies rushes you, and the ever-present swearing. The swearing is probably the best part.

Though the time I spent in the demo was short, I also realized fairly quickly how much strategy had been incorporated into the game. Besides your standard zombies, there are some specialty classes, if you will. The Tank is shown in the opening video sequence, as well as the Witch and Spider (correct me if that name is wrong, I’m referring to the one with a really long tongue like an insect). Then there are Hunters, of course, and Boomers. It’s a nice touch that whenever one of these is killed, a message/notification pops up on the screen. “Bill just killed Boomer,” or something like that. 

Additionally, you’ve got various obstacles and booby-traps. Set off a car alarm, for example, and you’re practically begging to be torn apart by all the zombies that will come running your direction. You don’t want that. Trust me, you don’t.

This is the sort of game that will really get your adrenaline flowing after a bit; I was shaking slightly when I stopped playing.

I don’t think I’ll be buying this immediately – as I’ve previously stated, Fallout 3 is still taking up what gaming time I have. I just got to Rivet City in that game, and probably sooner than I should have – I took an indirect route and died several times before I arrived in one piece. Still, a new city pretty much guarantees lots of new quests and content to uncover. I’ll post some screenshots in the next few days.

November 17, 2008 - Posted by | Gaming | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Hey! Good stuff. Love the game.

    Comment by akinotsuki | November 18, 2008 | Reply

  2. […] I’ve got a review of the demo here. Additionally, if you want to purchase the game, do so through Valve’s Steam distribution […]

    Pingback by Left 4 Dead Demo « Tech + Lifestyle: Enhance Your World | November 18, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

