Tech + Lifestyle

games, gear, and googleplexes (joke)

Review: Aiptek Action HD

As requested, my parents picked up an Aiptek Action HD camcorder for me for Christmas. Check out my video review + pictures below:

The product includes:

Camcorder

Camcorder

Camcorder (contd)

Camcorder (cont'd)

Mini-tripod

Mini-tripod

Component and composite cables

Component and composite cables

Remote

Remote

Assorted documentation!

Assorted documentation!

Fashionable carrying case (with strap)

Fashionable carrying case (with strap)

Can you tell I’m bored? Anyway…

Wall charger and usb cable

Wall charger and usb cable

Related Software

Related Software

Batter and SD slot

Batter and SD slot

LEDs for shooting in low light

LEDs for shooting in low light

Overall, I’m pleased with the camcorder. It’s small, it wasn’t very expensive, which will be great when I’m in China – easy to transport, but it won’t kill me if I lose it or it gets stolen. The video quality is pretty good, though I haven’t had much opportunity to test the low-light capabilities. The included microphone isn’t great, but it picks up the user pretty well… just not people who are far away. I’ll be looking into maybe rigging up an external mic, or doing simultaneous recording on a separate device and adding it the audio later. I’ll be shooting some more test shots in the next few days, which will dutifully get posted here. Check back for more information as I get a better idea of this thing! For now, I give it a score of 6/10; it’ll probably go up as I figure out the best ways to use it.

December 26, 2008 - Posted by | Tech, Video Review | , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. […] first collected Added 26 Dec 08 from techpluslifestyle.wordpress… Flag as inappropriate or […]

    Pingback by Review: Aiptek Action HD Video | December 26, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

