Tech + Lifestyle

games, gear, and googleplexes (joke)

Thus Endeth The Lesson

After giving the idea a bit of thought (and by a bit, I mean quite a decent amount), I’ve decent to put two of my blogs on the chopping block. Sounds a little dramatic, right?

Nah, not really.

I merely came to the realization that I’ve spread myself too thin. I’ve become too eager to take on more and more writing opportunities without taking into account what I’ve already got on my plate, and the result has been… frustrating, stressful, etc. The fact of the matter is that maintaining four blogs and writing content for an additional two websites simply isn’t worth it. One I’ll kinda miss, the other not so much. First to go is Rapidly Approaching Cliff – I won’t bother linking to it, as the link wouldn’t be functional in a couple hours. I started this with a couple other professional writing students at OU in an attempt to have a blog about writing. Soon after that occurred, Tech + Lifestyle started to take off (at least compared to previously), and my semester got a lot busier. My counterparts found themselves understandably engaged with their novel-writing class, and only managed a few posts apiece. I think I posted to that thing maybe five or six times since it’s creation, which comes out to around once every three weeks. That’s unacceptable, and I don’t want my name attached to it. Thoughts about creating fiction tend to come out when writing about other media anyway, and I can post stories I write to other sites, or submit them for publication – I don’t need a blog for that. Thus, despite the fact that I really liked the idea of writing about, well, writing, I’m going to kill Rapidly Approaching Cliff. I’m pretty sure the other two won’t mind.

Next, death visits Ask Teh Internets, which has always been something of a one-trick pony. On the one hand, it’s only been around for three or four weeks – no time at all, really. I haven’t had sufficient time to really get a rhythm going, so to speak. At the same time, I find that posting to it has been more of a drag than something I enjoy doing, as is the case with this blog. If that’s true, then what’s the point? I’ve had some people tell me they really like it, which is flattering, I suppose. At the same time, I just don’t want to have to bother with it anymore.

So there you have it. Two blogs killed in one fell swoop. Not too bad for one day’s work, right? While the corresponding decrease in actual work won’t be all that great, I will feel better having fewer sites to keep track of. No more worrying about ATI or RAC, wondering if I should post more to that, or if it’s okay to miss a couple days of posting, or whatever.

As a matter of fact, I feel pretty good right now.

January 7, 2009 - Posted by | Personal | , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. same boat, well not with blogs but with my other activities, but a lesson well learned : )

    Comment by doinmythingamy | January 7, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

