Tech + Lifestyle

games, gear, and googleplexes (joke)

F.E.A.R. 2: Screenshots

I played through the F.E.A.R. 2: Project Origin demo this evening. Suffice to say that I was thoroughly impressed. The demo takes around twenty or twenty-five minutes to complete, and manages to give you a pretty complete sense of what the game will be like.

There are a decent variety of weapons made available to you, including the assault rifle, shotgun, sniper rifle, laser, grenades, and everyone’s favorite, powered armor (essentially a mech). Enemies are also varied, and scale nicely as you proceed through the level. I was particularly impressed by the visual effects used for the paranormal side of things – developer Monolith Productions used things like motion blur, flickering/strobing light, and cut-scenes to an alternate reality/dimension/whatever.

I thoroughly enjoyed it, and I’m not even that into survival horror. For those of you who like the genre already, it’ll leave you chomping at the bit.

Check out the below screenshots for a taste of the game. I’d like to apologize in advance for the quality of the shots; I was forced to use my Macbook while trying out the demo, which meant playing at 900×600 with a ton of the eye-candy turned off.

Do what the girl says and get a copy.

January 23, 2009 - Posted by | Gaming | , ,

1 Comment »

  1. […] for my blog, perhaps more so than any of my past writing here. Mostly I write about tech and PC gaming, with the occasional music review, political rant, or automotive coverage. Overall, I’ve got […]

    Pingback by Portraiture « Tech + Lifestyle: Enhance Your World | January 28, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

