Tech + Lifestyle

games, gear, and googleplexes (joke)

On Hiatus, Sort Of

For those of you that know me, or have stumbled across my blog and taken an interest in it, thanks for reading. I feel obligated to inform you that while I am by no means abandoning this blog, the frequency of my posts will decrease drastically for the foreseeable future. On Saturday (Feb 21st), I’m boarding a 747 and flying to China, where I will live for the next five months. I’m doing a semester abroad at Yunnan Normal University in Kunming, studying intensive Chinese language and culture. I’m maintaining a multi-writer travel blog while I’m there, for which I am the admin and creator. I have no qualms with admitting that the being admin for twelve other bloggers is more hassle than I originally anticipated. I am, along with Zach, constantly reading over the posts of others, shuddering at poor writing, fixing spelling errors and bad grammar, and trying to salvage horrifically formatted posts from being completely useless.

I’ve been trying in vain to get my writers to upload their photos to our Flickr account – I bought a $25 pro account so we could have unlimited uploads, etc. With the exception of one, they all doggedly continue to use our limited space on WordPress. I’ve sent emails, written private posts explaining the process in detail, tried to encourage them… no luck. I’m not sure what it is exactly that’s keeping them from using it. None have complained about it being difficult or complicated, though I have had to tell people the username+password several times. If nothing else, the amount that I’ll be using it will more than make the purchase worthwhile, but it’s frustrating that it isn’t being used for its intended purpose.

More than anything, I’ve learned what not to do as an admin. If I ever attempt a multi-writer blog again, I’m going to require writing/photo samples before signing anyone on, as well as a face-to-face meeting so that I can accurately evaluate their commitment. I’m also going to start smaller, and with writers that are already familiar with blogging. I’ve wasted too much time explaining simple things like adding page breaks to long posts, checking the format of a post after publishing, linking to photos… the list goes on. The position of administrator shouldn’t devolve into that of babysitter, but it has in this case.

Anyway, apologies for the rant. I want to make it clear that I’m in no way blaming my writers for any problems – they’re just the victims of poor organization. I should have gotten everything started before we all left OU, but I didn’t think it would be necessary. If any of my writers are reading this, you’re doing great! I just wasn’t as clear as I should have been at the beginning.

I’ll still be posting onto this blog here and there, but I think it’ll mostly be music reviews that I continue to do for Blogcritics and Independent Clauses. I’ve still got my weekly IC commitment, and anytime an artist or PR rep sends me something I’ll be giving it a listen and publishing to BC. I don’t have very good camera equipment, unfortunately – just a basic point & shoot with noise problems and slight purpling on long distance objects (Olympus FE-140, anyone?), and a cheap digital camcorder that I’ve previously reviewed on here (Aiptek Action HD). Regardless, if I’m working on improving my composition skills and squeezing as much quality as I can out of my gear. If I take anything that I think is unusually good, I might make a short post on here. Also, one obligatory video will end up here – I’ve committed to buying and subsequently eating a scorpion from a  street vendor; that was a special request from a friend. I’m not entirely sure when that will occur, but know that it will definitely happen, and it’s showing up here.

Upon my return from China, I’ll be back at OU and staying pretty busy. Most of my writing time will go into the “Writing the Novel” course, in which I hammer out a 50,000+ word novel over the semester. I’m not sure just yet what genre I’ll go for, but I’ve got some ideas percolating up in my head. The point is that even when I return, this might not see a return to normalcy, as Warren Harding would say. After that, though… damn the torpedoes, full steam ahead.

February 19, 2009 - Posted by | Personal | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

