Tech + Lifestyle

games, gear, and googleplexes (joke)

I Want To Kill YNNU’s IT Department

If you read this often, or even a very small amount, you’ve probably gathered that I’m online a lot, and by that I mean most of my day. I’m online at school, online at home, online any bloody place with available WiFi.

In China, that’s a different story altogether.

For the last hour I’ve been trying to read an article on Anandtech about SSD storage. This isn’t really atypical of how I spend my evenings, except for the fact that every freakin’ time I try to navigate to the next page (or anything else, for that matter), the stupid server at my university disconnects me. Every. Single. Time.

You wouldn’t think that consistent access to the internet would be difficult, but apparently it is for Yunnan Normal University of Kunming, China. First they couldn’t figure out how to get me online because I’ve got a MacBook, and tried to blame my lack of access on OS-X, despite the fact that my suite-mate has as MacBook as well and gets online without any problems. Then they tried to tell me that I must have changed my networking settings, despite the fact that I’ve never previously used my laptop with anything other than really solid WiFi, thus never having to change any of the settings. Finally they set me up with a little PPPoE account on the network, told me everything would be perfect, and sent me away.

That would’ve been fine – great, in fact – were it anywhere near as good as what anyone else gets over the Ethernet, crappy though it may be. My connection drops regularly for no apparent reason; I’ve almost figured a sort of schedule for it. I’ve got maybe a 50% chance of getting online in the early evening, and on Sunday evenings, there’s no hope whatsoever of connecting. I’m not sure what sort of hardware they’re using, or why a decent-size university can’t manage to hire a competent IT team, but the service, or rather lack thereof, that I’m receiving is totally unacceptable. For those of you wondering how I got on and posted if my internet is such crap, this is one of the few times it’s actually cooperating. I’ve had a solid twenty-three minutes of access, which is a record for today. Sad? Yes. Unusual? Nope.

On a side note, I usually like to add at least a couple pictures to each post, but this one isn’t getting any. Want to know the reason why? For starters, China blocks WordPress, so I have to use a proxy server if I want to post anything here. Despite the fact that I’m on the fastest and most reliable server I’ve been able to find, half the time it won’t let me do simple things like upload pics to Skydrive, or properly navigate to decent images in a Google search. It’s absolutely absurd, and starting to make me angry. You won’t like me when I’m angry… HULK SMASH!!!

In some ways, this is even worse than going to AFROTC Field Training (which was one month of no technology whatsoever). Instead of taking my mind off of tech completely, this gives me just enough of a taste to keep me jonesing for the stuff. I like China, don’t get me wrong, but I’ve already starting looking forward to the time when I can get back to the US and my fantastic internet access at my house at school. Going online whenever I want, and accessing any site I want, all at incredible speeds? That seems like paradise right now.

Please don’t judge me harshly for this little rant. I’m trying really hard to adapt, instead of being the obnoxious westerner that complains about anything that’s remotely different from America or Europe (and trust me, I’ve met a couple of those). The fact of the matter is that you can take away my hot showers (stupid solar heaters), you can take away my air conditioning (stupid CCP regulations), you can take away my cable tv (stupid CCTV), you can take away my burgers and my steak and my copious quantities of other meat, you can even take away half my rights and try to force a curfew upon me “for my safety” (which they try to do, and fail), but heaven help you if you try to take away my access to the internet.

The next time I see the IT guy, he’s going down.

March 19, 2009 - Posted by | Personal, Tech | , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Stop censoring me!

    Comment by Zach | March 19, 2009 | Reply

  2. I’ll email you the link that was rudely not posted.

    Comment by Zach | March 19, 2009 | Reply

    • Haha that’s because it looks liked spam to akismet.

      *comment approved*

      Comment by Brian | March 19, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

