Tech + Lifestyle

games, gear, and googleplexes (joke)

Private Browsing Might Actually Be Good For Something

I’ve been meaning to post some of the pictures I’ve taken with my new Nikon D60, but unfortunately my internet access has been absolutely terrible of late, particularly when trying to use WordPress. It doesn’t help that China blocks access to my beloved blog to begin with, but I’ve been forced to use proxy servers to bypass the Great Firewall of China, thereby further slowing an already-slow connection. Lo and behold, I think I may have stumbled across the solution today.

While fiddling with the settings on Firefox in a futile attempt to tweak what limited bandwidth I’ve got access to, I happened upon Private Browsing. Normally, I’ve really got no reason to use it, but I started it out of morbid curiosity and a little quiet desperation. I was thinking to myself, private browsing is mostly used to prevent any sort of browsing history from being stored on your computer. What if it does more than that? What if it also encrypts outgoing packets, or something similar? So I entered the link for my admin page on here, hit enter, and watched with faint amusement, expecting to see the “server is taking too long to respond” message that signals a blocked site in China. Instead, the dashboard pops up! I almost did a little dance of joy. Almost.

Instead of that, here are, in no particular order, some of the better pictures I’ve taken while here. I don’t have any special equipment yet, just the D60 body and a standard 18-55mm/f3.5-5.6 kit lens, but I think I’m improving. Who knows, now that my connection to the web is a little more responsive, maybe I can even download an English manual for my camera and learn what all the little buttons do.

*Twenty Minutes Later*

It seems my solution is an imperfect one; I can’t add pictures to the post from Flickr. That makes me sad. I guess I’ll try again later.

April 6, 2009 - Posted by | Photography, Tech | , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

