Tech + Lifestyle

games, gear, and googleplexes (joke)

WWDC ’09: My Take

This image shamelessly kidnapped from IGN Entertainment

This image shamelessly kidnapped from IGN Entertainment

WWDC 2009 happened yesterday for most of you. For me, it happened early as balls this morning. I stayed up and watched as reports flooded in from 1AM until 3AM local time. This was one of those times where the time difference really, really sucked for me.

Some of you might be scoffing right now. “Surely you could have slept and read about it in the morning,” you say. “There was absolutely no reason to lose sleep over this thing. You didn’t even make an early post about it!” That may well be true. I didn’t post anything super-early in the wee, partially-conscious hours of my morning. I didn’t make any sort of cutting-edge analysis of Apple’s actions. I didn’t disparage them like some, and I certainly didn’t praise them like others. I just watched, because at heart I’m a geek, through and through. I love technology for technology’s sake, even if I don’t end up buying or using it. I love seeing how it evolves, how different technologies and upgrades compare to market conditions and what effect that has on price points. I love watching companies duke it out over who has the superior product, because that means innovation and better products for the little guy.

If you’re curious, I’ve got absolutely no intention of buying the new iPhone 3G S, nor any of the updated notebooks. For better or worse, I’m currently stuck on the T-Mobile network, which means no shiny Apple phone for me. I got the aluminum unibody MacBook when it came out, so there’s absolutely no reason for me to buy the new one because the battery and screen are better and it’s being called a MacBook Pro. I will say that Snow Leopard is mighty tempting at the $29 price point, and I’ll probably pick it up when it is released this September. Smaller footprint, OpenCL and their Grand Central tech? Yes, please!

All that being said, the announcements at this year’s WWDC were interesting for one major reason: prices were dropped. That’s borderline unheard-of for Apple. Components get cheaper over time, sure, but Apple typically puts that extra money into better components, not price drops. The lower prices on many of their products mean something important: Apple is finally adjusting to the market. People are sensitive to their discretionary spending now more than ever; it doesn’t make sense to continually cement your position as a premium brand when all that’s doing is losing business. Making small upgrades and pricing concessions is a bit step for Apple.

The hardware announcements made were just enough to keep Apple in a strong position in terms of their offerings, though that’s likely to change over the next year. These were minor, evolutionary changes; nothing was so huge or important as to make one of Apple’s products a must-have item. The Palm Pre and upcoming Android smart-phones will put the squeeze on Apple’s iPhone line, and maybe even offer significant features that the iPhone lacks. MacBook Pros will face continually stiffer competition from bigger companies as folks like HP and Dell get better at product design and marketing. All told, this WWDC mostly just made me look forward to the next inevitable product announcement.

June 10, 2009 - Posted by | News, Tech | , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Ahem.

    http://mattmadeiro.com/?p=170

    Comment by mattmadeiro | June 10, 2009 | Reply

    • Haha thanks, I saw it. Just commented, too.

      Comment by Brian | June 10, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

