Tech + Lifestyle

games, gear, and googleplexes (joke)

What I’m Listening To

Aaaaaaaaand we’re back. After an almost-week-long break from the cutthroat world of blogging, I’m back with a vengeance, yo. That being said, I am now of the opinion that taking breaks makes you lazy. It’s been a long 48 hours, so forgive the brevity of this post. Here’s a quick look at some of the more interesting music I’ve been listening to recently:

Boy and the Bird EP

Boy and the Bird EP

Merykid:

I had the pleasure of reviewing this guy’s album for Independent Clauses. It’s singer-songwriter, but with a fresh sound that evokes the likes of Temposhark and Keaton Simons. His Bird and the Bees EP came out recently; it’s only six songs, but it’s all quality stuff.

Dumpster Generation

Dumpster Generation

A Billion Ernies:

Also an IC work (should submit this review this weekend), A Billion Ernies is equal parts ska and hardcore. Sounds like fun, right? Yeah, me too. I’d actually heard these guys before, many, many years ago, so it was nice to check out their latest work. The quality is a bit raw and unfinished, but it complements their sound nicely.

Losing Salt

Losing Salt

Marc With A C:

Brilliant singer-songwriter that has something of a Mountain Goats sensibility. He sings about the chicken pox, star wars, punk rock girls, and storing human organs in formaldehyde. Need I say more?

Young Machetes

Young Machetes (apologies for the poor quality, my internet is crapping out)

The Blood Brothers:
Fast and hard punk rock. There’s a touch of the Hives in their sound, but the overall tone is harder, almost leaning toward the metal side of things. The album Young Machetes is an adrenaline-pumping, frenzied thing that makes for a good time.

The Few Not Fleeting

The Few Not Fleeting

Nothing More:

I’ve talked about these guys before – several times, I think. I’m too lazy to link it up, plus I think my proxy connection just got shut down; look them up. Nothing More is an independent band out of my hometown of San Antonio; they play progressive rock with other genre influences that range from funk to metal to pop. They’re a solid act, and apparently their song “Fat Kid” hit #12 on the rock charts in Norway. If that’s not simultaneously awesome and hilarious, I don’t know what is.

That wraps it up for now. I listen to more than I can possibly list here, so I’ll probably make this a recurring thing. Stay tuned and all that – more content coming your way!

July 4, 2009 - Posted by | Music | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

