Tech + Lifestyle

games, gear, and googleplexes (joke)

My iPod Is On Life Support

White Screen Coma

White Screen Coma

My iPod is currently in the gadget version of an intensive care unit. It’s near death, and I’ve got absolutely no idea what caused it. Everything is playing out like an episode of House, where every treatment come up with by the doctor (ahem, yours truly) only makes things worse. This is no fun.

I use my iPod on a daily basis. I need to walk somewhere? Bam, in go the earphones. I’m driving somewhere? Bam, my iPod gets plugged in, the tunes blast, and away we go. I’m studying and using my laptop would be too distracting? Out comes the iPod, in go the earphones, and Ratatat or Architecture in Helsinki or Norma Jean serenade me. Beyond the basic function of listening to music, I use my beloved iPod Touch (which is named Lisa, by the way) to play games, check email, and scratch out notes for writing ideas. It’s absolutely essential to my always-on lifestyle. Only now I can’t do any of that.

Ever so briefly, I considered turning this into some sort of admission to being too dependent on electronics, that everyone voluntarily cuts themselves off from the world with them, that we need to lose the gadgets every now and again and just appreciate life.

Screw that.

The "I Need Help" Seizure

The "I Need Help" Seizure

I don’t mind admitting that I’m not an extremely social person. In fact, I’m about as introverted as they come. I spend a lot of time by myself, and I like it that way. My iPod is my own personal force field, my miniature fortress of solitude. Being cut off from others isn’t an unfortunate side effect for me, it’s half the point of using my iPod in the first place. Take that away from me and not only am I uncomfortable, I get agitated and probably a little rude. None of those are good things.

I’ve tried to restore this thing three or four times now, and received a different error code each time. I think it might have something to do with the battery, but I can’t be sure. Every so often, I get it to function for about twenty seconds, and then it dies again. Random software features are inexplicably missing during that time, though, so it can’t just be the battery… I think. Maybe I got it wet and didn’t realize it. Maybe it’s giving up the ghost and there’s nothing I can do about it. Who knows.

Right now I’m pursuing the moisture theory and leaving it alone for a few days. I’m not optimistic, but there’s still a chance I can get it back up and running. Wish me luck.

July 6, 2009 - Posted by | Personal, Tech | , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. […] I’m holding onto a fake hope that it will magically come back to life, as it did previously in China. That doesn’t seem too likely, […]

    Pingback by Death, Quietly « Tech + Lifestyle | August 17, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

