Tech + Lifestyle

games, gear, and googleplexes (joke)

In Interim

I’m home. As in really, truly, home. It feels strange, but oh so good – like returning to some really comfortable clothes after not wearing them for a while. Yeah, that’s nice.

China was cool, don’t get me wrong, but half of my time there was spent learning to make do with inferior products and amenities. Music? All through the speakers on my MacBook. Don’t get me wrong, they’re actually pretty decent as far as laptop speakers go, but woefully inadequate compared to my surround sound setup (which in truth isn’t even that great, but compared to a laptop? Auditory nirvana).

Also, my 24″ monitor looks positively gargantuan against the 13″ laptop screen. Believe it or not, there were several times in China when I started thinking that my laptop’s screen was nice and big. ‘Cause, you know, who needs more than thirteen inches? On that note, I’ve had my bigger monitor connected to my laptop for ten or fifteen minutes, and only just now did I think to actually take advantage of all that space and move a window over. That makes me feel silly.

So yeah, suffice to say that life is pretty good right now. I’ve got air conditioning, which was the exception rather than the rule in Kunming. There are not one, but two refrigerators full of food I can eat. I don’t have to worry about noise complaints when I crank my music up. Heck, I didn’t even have the ability to turn my music way up in China. It’s reminding me why I like music so much.

All in all, I couldn’t be happier to be back. I’m still spending time readjusting to life in America. Frankly, life feels incredibly luxurious at the moment, and I’m enjoying all the little things.

Speakers and monitors and Dr. Pepper, oh my!

Speakers and monitors and Dr. Pepper, oh my!

On the blogging side of things, I’ll be getting back in the swing of things… sort of. T+L will be transitioning to being independently hosted over the next few months, which I’m looking forward to. Robot Bomb arguably deserves more of my time, though, so posting frequency will be down a bit as I pour blood, sweat, tears, and other bodily fluids into insuring its success. That, and there is the small issue of writing a novel as the grand finale of my Professional Writing degree at OU. I’ve made a solid start, but there’s a lot of work left that needs to go into that thing. Oh, and I’ve decimated my bank account over the course of the last six months, so I’ll need to get some sort of job.

That being said, today is going to be all bloggy and stuff. I’ve got a few posts built up that were never posted, and tons of cool new gear to share for you kids to drool over. Stay tuned!

August 11, 2009 - Posted by | Personal | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

