Tech + Lifestyle

games, gear, and googleplexes (joke)

Episode 5283: In which I adopt one child, but neglect the other

 

Robot Bomb

Robot Bomb!

In my desire to make sure Robot Bomb become something worthwhile, I’ve fallen into the habit of ignoring most all else, most directly evidenced in my lack of posting here on T+L, or on TouchGen, or on Indie Clauses, or on Blogcritics (save for that 3-part train wreck in which I offended fans of various bands by not loving the groups as much as they themselves do). My other big writing project right now, my first attempt at a novel, has temporarily been placed in second-class status – frankly, I only work on it two or three times per week, and only right before the deadline each Wednesday (or directly after, when I don’t finish in time).

 

Though my actions haven’t shown it of late, I have no intention of letting this blog end or fade away. Most of the reviews I write from here on out will appear on Robot Bomb, but all other content should continue to be posted here. The plan, eventually, is to move T+L to independent hosting, though I’ve yet to settle on and purchase a domain.

The main point of this post, though, is more to inform the teeming masses of Robot Bomb, not blather on about T+L. So, with that in mind…

 

Robot Bomb.

It’s up. It’s live. It’s not perfect, but it’s functional. Posting is still slightly sporadic, but the editors and I are working on figuring out some sort of schedule. Ironically, my biggest problem right now is an overabundance of certain types of content – two writers are dead set on writing nothing but sports- and gangsta rap-related  reviews. This would be perfectly fine, but they also write more than anyone else. The end result is that our content is currently a little skewed. That being said though, it’s certainly a better problem to have than not getting enough content to begin with.

If you don’t know, Robot Bomb is a reviews site. We cover music, movies, books, and videogames, and each review has more personality and snark than a drunk Irishman

On a side note: I’m not one for code. I’ve never particularly enjoyed learning it, or trying to use it, yet this endeavor has forced me to dabble in more PHP and HTML than I’ve ever used before. I’ve certainly gained some experience, but some things still remain a mystery to me. For example:

I’d decided that Robot Bomb would go live on the 30th of October. Despite having months of time to prepare, it always seems that things like these end up going down to the wire, and Robot Bomb was no exception. The other editors and I were furiously editing posts until around 11:40, at which point I decided to work on getting the files for our template FTP’ed. Evidently I ended up adding more than was necessary, and not deleting all the extraneous files, and ended up with a broken teaser site when what I really wanted was a non-broken main site.

Zach and I had a conversation that went something like this:

Me: Zach Zach Zach I FTP’ed all the stuff and it’s not working! WHY IS IT NOT WORKING?

Zach: You probably did something wrong. Delete all of it and try again.

Me: But some of it I never added in the first place, some of it was already there and I’m not sure which bits are from the teaser site and which bits I just added and I DON”T KNOW WHAT TO DO!

Zach: You’re dumb.

Me: I know! Can you fix it?

Zach: *Sigh* Hold on.

Me: *waits a moment* It’s still not fixed!

Zach: WAIT A SECOND.

Zach: Now look.

Me: It works it works it works! You’re awesome!

Zach: I know.

 

We’ve had several more moments like that since the 30th, and I’m sure there will be several more. It’s been an experience, that’s for sure. There’s still plenty more to do, but we’re off to a good start. If you haven’t dropped by yet, do me a favor and check it out!

November 7, 2009 - Posted by | Humor, Personal, State of the Blog | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a comment